Give Us A Sign

This is one of my favorite signs on the Green River. It reminds me of my 14-year-old daughter.


Me: “Mamie, dump no materials!”
Mamie (with 14-year-old attitude): “Whatever.”
The other thing I love about this sign? It replaced an earlier sign that also admonished people not to dump but also included a big “No Trespassing” message complete with skull and crossbones. When the trail reopened, the “No Trespassing” part was no longer applicable, so they replaced the original sign with this sign. And what did they do with the first one?

Why there it is! Right on the ground. At the base of the new “No Dumping” sign.

Dumped.

Whatever.
11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 14:12:00

    Gotta love that WHATEVER. I especially enjoyed the fate of the old sign. Hmmm…

    Reply

  2. Danger Panda
    Jul 21, 2008 @ 14:43:00

    Margaret, someone is clearly just not thinking straight at the county. That's my diagnosis.

    Reply

  3. JoJo
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 10:57:00

    Is it me or is the new sign grammatically incorrect?Shouldn't "material" be plural? And "Whatever" be "Whatsoever"? Ah. Whatever.

    Reply

  4. Danger Panda
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 11:00:00

    JoJo, the whole thing is wrong on so many levels. That's why I love it so!

    Reply

  5. Op
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 19:07:00

    Honey! Thanks for letting me find you online again!Rainy Oz is getting me down. Love and miss you the BEST! Op and co

    Reply

  6. Anonymous
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 19:28:00

    Op did what I couldn't – find you. Glad to find you – and your tales/tails of adventure. Go girl!d

    Reply

  7. Danger Panda
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 20:49:00

    Hi Ladies P.,I wasn't trying to hide! Just getting cheap about blogging. I tend to hate Blogger, but it's definitely cheaper than maintaining my own site. Thanks for sticking with me. Rough week, but things are looking up!

    Reply

  8. FirstNations
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 06:31:00

    …made even more macabre by the fact that several years back someone was doing quite a lot of dumping along the Green River. obviously the first sign didn't work.

    Reply

  9. Danger Panda
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 10:39:00

    FN, I was wondering when someone was going to say it!Reichart: "Gary, no dumping materials!"Ridgway: "Whatever…"

    Reply

  10. FirstNations
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 06:51:00

    i can usually be relied upon to make that kind of association. glad to help 😀

    Reply

  11. Razor Family Farms
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 04:51:00

    Hilarious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

