Dinner

I’m not saying I did, but if I told you I had a bowl of stale Cheerios and a handful of jalapeno stuffed olives for dinner, would that make me a vegan? Or just pathetic? Where exactly does the boundary of demarcation fall between the two? My friend FirstNations says that a Vegan mistakes animals for people and their eating disorder for a virtue. She has clearly given the matter some thought. I think that any meal consisting of a bowl of stale Cheerios topped off with a handful of jalapeno stuffed olives (jalapeno and garlic stuffed olives, in the name of full and precise disclosure) could in itself be defined as an eating disorder, at least under circumstances that don’t include stranded-at-the-scene-of-a-mountainside-airplane-crash starvation or a razor-wielding sadist in clown makeup (as in, “You vill eat zee Cheerios, ya—or else…” as the razor dances ever closer to your most treasured anatomy).

Okay, yes, I did have a bowl of stale Cheerios and a handful of jalapeno-garlic stuffed olives for dinner. But the milk on the cereal? It skated into the pictures just inches in advance of its use-by date. Because if it hadn’t, I don’t think we’d need to be discussing the narrow border territory between Vegan and Pathetic. That teeter-totter would have slammed down on the Loser side of the equation with a spine jarring “Oof!” Just saying.

I washed it all down with a bottle of Riesling. Clearly the strong bouquet of red wine would have overpowered the meal’s delicate textures and flavors, so I opted for the white stuff in the green bottle. I’m fancy like that.

Stufed Olives Buoy the Spirit

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 12:20:37

    Alison is trying to be a vegan and I utterly hate it. Yuck! She is way, way too skinny. 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Trailhead
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 18:54:30

    This makes me very happy.

    Reply

  3. Kristy
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 19:32:13

    Hi ladies, so nice to see you here. Yes, I’m trying to get back into things–trying out the WordPress. I’m probably going to need your help figuring out the fine points. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

