Who’s Newton Faulkner? A New Old Friend and Favorite…

Image

The thing I like most about my little cubicle of a home (at work) is the big, black telephone that squats in glorious obsolescence in the corner of my desk. And the thing I like best about that phone is that it NEVER rings. Never. We have evolved into a people of email and IM, thank God, and glory halleluiah. After a career that has included more than one stint in in-bound call centers, I especially appreciate a life where I don’t have to respond to the shrill demands of an irrational appliance.

As a result, I’ve established a long-term and mostly satisfying relationship with Pandora.com (to ornament the sweet, prolonged silence). I started out by asking it to play some Bruce Cockburn for me (Wondering Where the Lions Are? On Pandora!) and then gradually convincing it that there is more to my musical life than the Dave Matthews Band. After several months of negotiating our mutual idea of music-to-code-by, Pandora and I have reached the same companionable state as an old and happily married couple. The world just keeps getting better and better!

It is thanks to Pandora that I was recently introduced to Newton Faulkner, a singer-guitarist from across the pond who sounds more like Crowded House than those kiwi Finn boys ever did even on their best days. This is a good thing, in case you were wondering. I bought Faulkner’s first CD and have nearly worn out its grooves by playing it over and over in my car. I love singing along with the shouty bits.

The boy knows how to rock the Amish beard + ginger dreadlock look too! That’s not a combination you see every day, eh? It helps me overlook that annoying being British thing (for which I don’t have a proper attitude, according to my Beatles-loving family. So sue me).

Just yesterday—yesterday—our boy Newton released the best album since Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (of course, that’s not quite as high praise coming from me as it would be from someone who actually likes the Beatles). I’ve been listening to previews of most of the tracks all week. Am I jazzed for this album?  Oh, hell to the yes!

So, here I am in America with my wallet hanging out, looking for a way to support Newton Faulkner’s career while scoring an entire album of music that feels custom made for me. And? You don’t live in Britain, Kristy. You will have to wait. No soup for you.

Now, it’s not that we’re waiting for a slow boat from Liverpool to deliver a load of physical CDs across the ocean, so that they can be then loaded on a truck to make their slow way across the Colonies so that they can be delivered to Amazon (up the street) so that Amazon can put them on a FedEx truck to Sea-Tac so that they can make a connection at the Dallas airport, before being sent back to the Northwest to be handed over to the Post Office to be delivered to my mailbox. No! All we’re waiting for is Sony to give iTunes the blessing to flip the switch so that Americans can download the album like the rest of the world can (or at least the British Empire portion of it). Can anyone explain to me why this model, based on a trans-oceanic shipping model that’s as antiquated as my telephone, still has to hold sway in a world that has otherwise gone digital? Anyone? Bueller? Anyone?

So. My friend is a lucky man. He tends to find things that have fallen off of trucks along the Information SuperHighway. And guess what! He found a copy of Newton Faulkner’s brand new album–like a Christmas miracle. So here I am in pop music nirvana because Sugar in the Snow is my new favorite song and BFF.

But.

The only reason I’m enjoying it with a clear conscience is that I have the already pre-ordered the physical CD (complete with liner notes, because, yes, I am just that old-school to require printed visuals), and am just barely ethical enough to believe that artists should be financially supported by appreciative fans. As I would have liked to have done from the outset.

The music industry is kinda stupid. That’s all I’m saying.

And that you should go forth and buy Newton Faulkner’s new album Write It On Your Skin. Wherever you happen to live.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 21:28:05

    What kind of music is it? I’ve never heard of him before, but that’s not surprising though. I tend to listen to the same people over and over again. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kristy
    Jul 10, 2012 @ 21:44:11

    Margaret, check out this free preview. Good stuff!
    http://soundcloud.com/newton-faulkner/sets/write-it-on-your-skin/s-WZKMk

    Reply

  3. mereechoes
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 06:44:48

    I’ve not heard of him! I love finding new musicians to love.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

