The Ides of September

Well, that was fun! For me, at least. It was good to reach into the dust-filled depths of my brain for those handful of memories of Deen—to pull them out and polish them up before they become hopelessly lost in the dryer lint and Beatles trivia that has otherwise claimed all unoccupied corners of my long-term memory. They are valuable because they are the only things that make me at all cool to my nieces and nephews (although they don’t rise to a level that would make me cool to my own children, oh no!). I was gratified to see that they could even be strung like beads onto a necklace of connecting narrative in a way I would not have predicted. We, Deen and I, overlapped in school for just a single year and I haven’t seen him in person ever since. That doesn’t leave much room for storytelling, but those memories, coated with a liberal dose of the reinforcing glue of hyperbole, seemed to have done the trick!

Hyperbole? What?

No….no hyperbole here! NONE.

Anyway, you’ll notice from the date stamps that the last episode of the series took a painfully long time to publish compared to the first episodes, all of which flowed from my pen as unimpeded and easily as idiots going over Niagara Falls in wooden barrels. That last episode, however, I literally got to within two paragraphs of the end before September dropped me down a well of stultifying despair, as September often does. Writer’s block was the least of it, really. For the first time in my life, I ended up seeing a counselor—an experience every bit as rewarding as having to endure a weekly root canal. But that, coupled with some casual light therapy, seems to have made a difference. I’m feeling so much better. Finally I tapped out those final sentences, baked the resulting batter at 350 degrees until a toothpick came out clean, slapped it up on WordPress, and called it a day.

Moving on.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 21:17:12

    Is it because your daughter is off to college? I went through a bit of depression the first time too.Hope you’re doing better. xoxo

    Reply

    • Kristy
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 20:20:20

      You know, I’m sure that was one of the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle, but certainly not the only one. As you know better than anyone, sometimes when it rains, it pours. But, yes, I’m doing better now, thanks.

      Reply

  2. Op
    Oct 02, 2012 @ 01:10:33

    Well done Honey! Miss you so much! Wish I could share some September 7th Cake with you!!!! Op

    Reply

    • Kristy
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 20:22:09

      Opest, I’m afraid that you and I may be the only people in the universe who remember Sept 7th cake at this point. The last time I was in the vicinity of the 5th Street market, someone told me that the bakery isn’t even there any more! I miss you too. The next time you’re here we’ll have to try to concoct our own version, yes? Yes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

